Mending as art

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Museum where I work will soon exhibit the first artwork by a participatory artist since I’ve been here, and so I’ve been doing a bit of research (otherwise known as internet stalking). Lee Mingwei has been creating works meant for engagement for years, graduating Yale in 1997 with a MFA in Sculpture, and exhibiting at the Whitney and the Fabric Workshop as early as 1998. Though the project I should be learning about is not one of Mingwei’s fabric works, I admit I got a bit side tracked when I stumbled upon projects such as The Fabric of Memory and The Mending Project (scroll down the bar on the left of the webpage to browse images and descriptions of all his projects). I encourage all to take up my internet “research” and check his work out. I haven’t seen anything this cool since Nadia Myre’s Scar Project.

Leave a Reply

